Poipu Bay Golf Course, Where Champions Play

first glimpse of Poipu Bay Golf Course

I feel so privileged to have had the great opportunity to play golf at one of the nations premier golf destinations, home of the PGA Grand Slam of Golf 1994-2006.  Thanks to a wonderful birthday gift,  I had this pleasure, one extravagance I would never afford myself.  This was dream golf.  When compared to my usual choices for frugal golf.

lush fairways and beautiful scenery

The warm up area was the best I had ever seen.  All the range balls you wanted were included and they were good balls too.  We practiced up plenty because I really wanted to play well here.   The driving range even included sand traps, so you could practice your strategy of avoidance.   Some practice putting on fast smooth greens was all of the preparation I needed, and then off to our round.  We were able to play as a twosome.  I love that.

golf in the shadow of giants

The fairways were plump.  Drives had a really long run with the help of the wind and could roll even further on the carpet-like fairway grass.  The fairway held the ball perched up, like on a tee.  I had my best second shots ever with my 5 wood on this turf.

golf course serenity

This course was gorgeous and serene.  The pace was just right, we never felt pushed or hurried.  The drink cart attendant was ever present.  I was pleased with my performance as with numerous traps and hazards I only found myself in the sand once, and had a great out with a little bounce near the pin.

four palms tell wind direction

We loved the wind.  We loved the views.

Poipu Bay, most beautiful golf course I have ever seen

My score did not reflect the generally good game I played,  hitting the ball straight, staying in the fairway and out of the traps,  good chips onto the green and putting true to the read.   That could be because I dropped 3 balls into the water on just one hole.  So be it.  This was a wonderfully satisfying golf outing .  Thank you, Chris.

breathtaking views

view of the pacific from the golf course

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Poipu Bay Golf Course, Where Champions Play”

  1. 2010 in review « Rene's travels Says:

    […] Poipu Bay Golf Course, Where Champions Play November 2009 […]

Leave a Reply

